MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS OF ENNISCORTHY MUNICIPAL DISTRICT HELD ON WEDNESDAY 26TH JUNE, 2024 AT 2.00 PM IN THE PRESENTATION CENTRE, ENNISCORTHY

Attendance: Councillors: John O'Rourke

Barbara-Anne Murphy

Cathal Byrne Aidan Browne Pat Kehoe Jackser Owens

Officials: Ms. Carolyne Godkin, Director of Services

Ms. Claire Lawless, District Manager

Mr. Neil Dempsey, Senior Executive Engineer

Ms. Edel Nolan, Staff Officer

Members of the Public: Mrs Kathleen Browne

Mr Aidan Browne Snr

Ms Lisa Browne

The District Manager commenced the Annual Meeting and welcomed everyone. She congratulated the returning elected members and congratulated and welcomed Cllr Pat Kehoe. The District Manager introduced the newly elected Council and suggested as in the case of an Annual Meeting in an election year the Chairmanship is not provided for, and that as standard practice the outgoing Cathaoirleach Cllr O'Rourke would chair the election of the new Cathaoirleach if all members were agreeable. Cllr Browne proposed this, and Cllr Byrne seconded.

At this point the Director of Services formally congratulated all the elected Members and wished them the best for the next five years.

Outgoing Cathaoirleach Cllr John O'Rourke thanked his colleagues, family and friends for all the work in the past five years and was delighted that the O'Rourke name would be once again on the roll of Chairpersons. He recalled his highlight in his term of Cathaoirleach as the signing of the Sister Cities Friendship Agreement with Blacktown, Sydney, N.S.W. and commented on the minority of low points which were outweighed by the positives.

1. Election of Cathaoirleach.

Cllr. O'Rourke called for proposals for Cathaoirleach of the Enniscorthy Municipal District.

On the proposal of Cllr. Murphy, seconded by Cllr. Owens the Members unanimously agreed to nominate Cllr. Browne. No further nominations were made and therefore Cllr. O'Rourke declared Cllr. Browne elected as Cathaoirleach of the Municipal District of Enniscorthy. Cllr. O'Rourke transferred the Chain of Office to Cllr. Browne.

Cllr. Browne thanked his proposers and welcomed back the five returning members and welcomed Cllr Pat Kehoe to the Enniscorthy Team. Cathaoirleach Cllr Aidan Browne said it was an honour to be proposed to serve as Chairperson of the Enniscorthy Municipal District of Wexford County Council and to serve the people of Enniscorthy and District.

2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach.

The Cathaoirleach Cllr Aidan Browne called for proposals for Leas Cathaoirleach.

On the proposal of Cllr. O'Rourke, seconded by Cllr. Murphy Cllr Owens was nominated. The Cathaoirleach asked the Members if there were any further nominations for the position. No other nominations were received.

The Cathaoirleach declared Cllr. Owens elected as Leas Cathaoirleach of the Municipal District of Enniscorthy.

Cllr. Owens thanked his proposer and seconder and declared that he would do his best to serve the people of Enniscorthy.

The Members and Executives extended their congratulations to and Cllr. Browne and Cllr. Owens.

3. Standing Orders.

The District Manager circulated a copy of the amended Standing Orders of the Enniscorthy Municipal District. She stated that it was in line with Wexford County Councils Standing Orders. On the proposal of Cllr. Murphy, seconded by Cllr. Owens the Standing Orders for the Enniscorthy Municipal District were adopted as presented.

4. Schedule of Meetings.

The Cathaoirleach Cllr Browne noted that to date the Enniscorthy Municipal District held their meetings on the 3rd Monday of every month and asked the Members to consider amending the standing orders and changing the day of the meeting to the third Tuesday of each month at the same time of 9.30am.

Following a brief discussion on the proposal of Cllr. Murphy, seconded by Cllr. O'Rourke the Members agreed to hold the monthly meetings of the Enniscorthy Municipal District on the 3rd Tuesday of every month at 9.30 a.m. and that the Standing Orders be amended to reflect this.

5. Chair-designate to the following:

• Enniscorthy Town Centre First Team

The Cathaoirleach requested nominations for the Chair for the Enniscorthy Town Centre First Team and noted that previous agreement was made that the sitting Cathaoirleach had been proposed. Cllr Byrne proposed to continue this practice and Cllr Owens seconded. Cathaoirleach Cllr Browne was designated as Chair of the Enniscorthy Town Centre First Team.

• Bunclody Town Centre First Team

This concluded the Pusiness of the Mosting at 2 25pm

The Cathaoirleach requested nominations for the Chair for the Bunclody Town Centre First Team. Cllr O'Rourke nominated Cllr Murphy and Cllr Owens seconded this. Cllr Murphy was designated as Chair of the Bunclody Town Centre First Team.

Cathaoirleach Cllr Aidan Browne wished photographer John Walsh the very best in his recent retirement. All members wished to be associated with the well wishes.

Cllr Pat Kehoe thanked the five returning Councillors for the support shown to him in the past few months and he will do his best to represent all the people of the district.

Cllr Murphy thanked the Count Staff for a very professionally run count at the recent Local Elections. Cllr Owens seconded Cllr Murphys praise.