Minutes of the Rosslare Municipal District Annual Meeting held on the 26th June 2024 at 10:30hrs in the Council Chamber, County Hall, Carricklawn

Presiding:	Cllr. Jim Codd
Councillors:	Cllr. Lisa McDonald Cllr. Ger Carthy Cllr. Frank Staples Cllr. Aoife Rose O'Brien
Officials:	Nóirín Cummins – District Manager Lynda Lacey – District Director Michael Brazzill – District Engineer (Roads) Sandra Martin – Staff Officer Johanna Somers – Assistant Staff Officer Eddie Taffe – Chief Executive

Apologies: N/A

The District Manager took the chair and welcomed all in attendance including TD Peadar Tobin, leader of Aontú. She invited nominations for an interim chair of the meeting. On the proposal of Cllr. Staples and seconded by Cllr. Codd, Cllr. Ger Carthy took the interim Chair.

Cllr. Carthy welcomed the officials and members to the meeting, he acknowledged the previous council of 2019-2024 and stated he was looking forward to working with the new council in delivering the Strategic Plan.

Cllr. Carthy welcomed TD Peader Tobin and also the family of Cllr. Codd present in the public gallery, led by his mother Ann.

Cllr. Carthy commenced proceedings and called for nominations for Cathaoirleach.

1. Election of Cathaoirleach

On the proposal of Cllr. Ger Carthy, seconded by Cllr. Aoife Rose O'Brien, Cllr. Jim Codd was nominated. As no counter proposal was offered, Cllr. Jim Codd was duly elected and took the chair.

An Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Jim Codd, drew the attention of the meeting to Joseph Wallace, son of Mick Wallace, and extended sympathies to the Wallace family, as well to the family of the Late Mikey Nacey of Wellingtonbridge.

Thanking his fellow councillors for election to the position of an Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Codd stated his confidence that the five members will work together to better the community and announced that each of the five councillors would have the opportunity to hold the chair.

Cllr. Codd said that he hoped his chairmanship will provide an opportunity to celebrate the rich heritage of the district and that he would like to see the Fleadh extended to Carrig on Bannow. He expressed his intention to extend the meetings of the Municipal District out to the community and bring the community into the meetings.

Noting that the elected members had just come through a gruelling election, Cllr. Codd noted the great team of officials in the Rosslare MD, stating it was a pleasure to work with them over the past five years and he looked forward to the years to come.

An Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Jim Codd mentioned that Climate Change will be greatly felt in Wexford and called on the Government to alleviate these challenges for the people. He stated that the council will go forward united and promised that he will be a chairman of the people.

In remembering his father, Eddie Codd, who has passed away seven weeks previous, Cllr. Codd took the opportunity to thank him for a great education. He also expressed his thanks to all that had helped him in the election and to TD Peadar Tobin for attending the meeting.

Cllr. Jim Codd was congratulated by the elected members, TD Peadar Tobin and the Chief Executive of Wexford County Council, who acknowledged Cllr. Codd's hard work and wished him well in his role of Cathaoirleach.

2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

On the proposal of Cllr. Frank Staples, seconded by Cllr. Aoife Rose O'Brien, Cllr. Ger Carthy was nominated. As no counter proposal was offered, Cllr. Ger Carthy was duly elected.

The Elected Members congratulated Cllr. Carthy on his election to the role of an Leas Cathaoirleach and commended the work he had contributed to the people of the district over the years.

An Leas Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Ger Carthy, thanked his fellow members stating he was looking forward to working with them over the next five years.

3. Schedule of Municipal District Meetings

On the proposal of Cllr. Carthy which was seconded by Cllr. Codd, the Schedule of Meetings 2024 / 2025 was adopted as presented.

4. Schedule of Municipal District Meetings

On the proposal of Cllr. O'Brien which was seconded by Cllr. Staples, Standing Orders – Rosslare MD 2024 was adopted as presented.

5. AOB

The District Director offered her congratulations to Cllr. Codd and Cllr. Carthy on their elections to the roles of Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach, and

congratulated all the Elected Members on the recent election. She welcomed Cllr. Aoife Rose O'Brien to the district, noting that of the total six female elected members in the Council, two of them were in the Rosslare MD.

The District Director noted that it was important at this time to work with the Strategic Plan that is in place. Speaking on behalf of the Executive, she noted that they are looking forward to working with the Elected Members to deliver on the plan. She also recognised the contribution and great achievement of Gerry Forde in his role of Senior Engineer in Environment, working in public service for over 42 years, Mr. Forde is due to retire on 28th June, she asked the Rosslare MD to acknowledge his fantastic work over those years.

Cllr. O'Brien thanked everyone for the welcome stating she looked forward to working together over the next five years and hoped to bring diversity as the youngest Elected Member.

The District Director brought to the attention of the meeting that following discussions with the County Secretary, Rosslare MD is one of only two districts without a Protocol Committee in place. She stated it will be brought forward to the July meeting for the member's consideration.

THAT CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING

Signed on the 22nd July 2024

Cllr. Jim Codd An Cathaoirleach Rosslare Municipal District