WEXFORD COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of Annual Meeting of Wexford County Council Held Monday 20 June 2022 in the Council Chamber at 2.30pm (with some remote attendance)

Attendance:

In the Chair: Cllr. B. A. Murphy Cathaoirleach.

Councillors:

BARDEN	PAT	DONOHOE	ANTHONY (on line)	MCDONALD	LISA
BELL	MAURA	FARRELL	MARY	MOORE	JIM
BOLGER	ANDREW	FLEMING	JOHN	MURPHY	BRIDIN
BREEN	PIP			O'ROURKE	JOHN
BROWNE	AIDAN	HEGARTY	JOHN (ON-LINE)		
BYRNE	CATHAL	HYNES	DAVID		
CARTHY	GER	KAVANAGH	WILLIE	SHEEHAN	MICHAEL
CODD	JIM	KELLY	LEONARD	STAPLES	FRANK
CODD-NOLAN	KATHLEEN	KENNY	DONAL	SULLIVAN	JOE
		LAFFAN	GARY	WALSH	OLIVER
DEVEREUX	DIARMUID	LAWLOR	GEORGE	WHELAN	MICHAEL

Officials:

Mr. T. Enright, Chief Executive

Mr. E. Hore, Director of Services

Ms. A. O'Neill, Head of Finance

Ms. C. Godkin, Director of Services

Ms. A. Byrne, A/Director of Services

Mr. B. Galvin, A/Director of Services

Mr. D. Houston, A/ Director of Services

Mr. D. Minogue, County Secretary

Apologies:

Councillors: J. Codd, A. Connick, F. O'Suilleabhain, J. Owens

1. Opening Remarks – An Cathaoirleach

Outgoing Cathaoirleach Cllr. B.A. Murphy opened the 125th Annual Meeting of Wexford County Council and welcomed the attendance. On behalf of the Council, Cllr. Murphy expressed support for Cllr. Connick and Whelan, both of whom have family members quite ill at this time.

Cllr. Murphy also expressed sympathy to the Kinsella Family, Gorey, following the tragic death of Mr. Billy Kinsella General Operative Wexford County Council, in February 2022.

Cllr Murphy remarked on the many events that took place during her year and said she felt proud and privileged to have had the opportunity to represent her county at these events, such as Savannah Trade Delegation, London Wexford Association Dinner Dance, and a vast number of local events.

The Cathaoirleach said she was particularly proud of the Council's response to the Ukrainian Displaced Persons crisis and the manner in which the Council is leading the Wexford Community Forum in its support of the response.

All Members joined in congratulating the outgoing Cathaoirleach for her very busy year and spoke of her outstanding performance during her term of office in representing Wexford County Council and County Wexford with pride, professionalism and commitment.

Chief Executive Tom Enright joined with the elected members in congratulating the outgoing Cathaoirleach on her professional and exceptional performance during her year in office.

2. Election of Cathaoirleach

Cllr. G. Lawlor was proposed by Cllr. M. Bell and seconded by Cllr. G. Carthy for the position of Cathaoirleach

Cllr. F. Staples was proposed by Cllr. C. Byrne and seconded by Cllr. O. Walsh for the position of Cathaoirleach.

There followed a roll-call vote, and the result of that vote was as follows.

(Note: No. "1" indicates a vote in favour of the candidate whose name appears at the top of the relevant column, while "AS" indicates the Councillor was not in attendance at the time of the vote.

COLINCILLOR		CANDIDATE		
COUNCILLOR			LAWLOR	STAPLES
1	BARDEN	PAT	1	
2	BELL	MAURA	1	
3	BOLGER	ANDREW	1	
4	BREEN	PIP	1	
5	BROWNE	AIDAN	1	
6	BYRNE	CATHAL		1
7	CARTHY	GER	1	
8	CODD	JIM	1	
9	CODD-NOLAN	KATHLEEN		1
10	CONNICK	ANTHONY	AS	AS
11	DEVEREUX	DIARMUID		1
12	DONOHOE	ANTHONY		1
13	FARRELL	MARY	1	
14	FLEMING	JOHN	1	
15	FORDE	TOM	AS	AS
16	HEGARTY	JOHN	AS	AS
17	HYNES	DAVID	1	
18	KAVANAGH	WILLIE	1	
19	KELLY	LEONARD	1	
20	KENNY	DONAL	1	
21	LAFFAN	GARY	1	
22	LAWLOR	GEORGE	1	
23	MCDONALD	LISA	1	
24	MOORE	JIM		1
	MURPHY	BARBARA-		
25		ANNE	1	
26	MURPHY	BRIDIN		1
27	O'ROURKE	JOHN	1	
28	O'SUILLEABHAIN	FIONNTAIN	AS	AS
29	OWENS	JACKSER	AS	AS
30	SHEEHAN	MICHAEL	1	
31	STAPLES	FRANK		1
32	SULLIVAN	JOE	1	
33	WALSH	OLIVER		1
34 WHELAN MICH		MICHAEL	1	
Totals			21	8

On a vote of 21 in favour of Cllr Lawlor and 8 votes in favour of Cllr. Staples, Cllr. BA Murphy declared Cllr. G. Lawlor to be elected Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council for the 2022-2023 term.

Cllr. Lawlor was presented by Cllr. BA Murphy with the Chain of Office, following which Cllr. Lawlor the Chair.

The Cathaoirleach thanked his proposer and seconder, commiserated with Cllr. Staples and congratulated Cllr. BA Murphy on her exemplary performance during her term of office.

Cllr. Lawlor promised to be a Cathaoirleach for all and undertook to do his utmost on behalf of the Council and the people of Wexford. He highlighted a number of issues that he believed would be matter of utmost importance in the year ahead, including Housing, job-creation, the Ukraine crisis, and drew attention to the on-going and Council-driven projects in each district which he hoped to see completed or substantially advanced during his term of office.

Cllr. Lawlor also spoke of his aspirations for securing Fleadh Ceoil na hEireann for Wexford in the very near future.

The Members and Chief Executive joined in congratulating Cllr. Lawlor on his election to the office of Cathaoirleach and wished him every success in the year ahead.

At the suggestion of the County Secretary, and on the proposal of Cllr. P. Breen, seconded by Cllr. M. Sheehan, the Members agreed to briefly suspend Standing Orders to allow the Cathaoirleach's daughters, who were attending on-line as members of the public, to speak, and offer their congratulations and good wishes to their father on his election as Cathaoirleach.

The Cathaoirleach called for nominations for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council.

Cllr. M. Whelan was proposed by Cllr. J. Fleming and seconded by Cllr. M. Sheehan for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach

Cllr. B. Murphy was proposed by Cllr. J. Moore and seconded by Cllr. K. Codd Nolan for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach.

There followed a roll-call vote, and the result of that vote was as follows:

(Note: No. "1" indicates a vote in favour of the candidate whose name appears at the top of the respective column, while "AS" indicates the Councillor was not in attendance at the time of the vote.

COUNCILLOR			LEAS-CATHAOIRLEACH CANDIDATE		
			WHELAN (M)	MURPHY (B)	
1	BARDEN	PAT	1		
2	BELL	MAURA	1		
3	BOLGER	ANDREW	1		
4	BREEN	PIP	1		
5	BROWNE	AIDAN	1		
6	BYRNE	CATHAL		1	
7	CARTHY	GER	1		
8	CODD	JIM	1		
9	CODD-NOLAN	KATHLEEN		1	
10	CONNICK	ANTHONY	AS	AS	
11	DEVEREUX	DIARMUID		1	
12	DONOHOE	ANTHONY		1	
13	FARRELL	MARY	1		
14	FLEMING	JOHN	1		
15	FORDE	TOM	AS	AS	
16	HEGARTY	JOHN	AS	AS	
17	HYNES	DAVID	1		
18	KAVANAGH	WILLIE	1		
19	KELLY	LEONARD	1		
20	KENNY	DONAL	1		
21	LAFFAN	GARY	1		
22	LAWLOR	GEORGE	1		
23	MCDONALD	LISA	1		
24	MOORE	JIM		1	
25	MURPHY	BARBARA-			
25	MUDDUV	ANNE	1		
26	MURPHY	BRIDIN	4	1	
27	O'ROURKE	JOHN	1	4.0	
28	O'SUILLEABHAIN	FIONNTAIN	AS	AS	
29	OWENS	JACKSER	AS	AS	
30	SHEEHAN	MICHAEL	1	_	
31	STAPLES	FRANK		1	
32	SULLIVAN	JOE	1		
33	WALSH	OLIVER		1	
34	WHELAN	MICHAEL	1		
Totals			21	8	

On a vote of 21 in favour of Cllr M. Whelan and 8 votes in favour of Cllr. B. Murphy, the Cathaoirleach declared Cllr. M. Whelan to be elected Leas-Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council for the 2022-2023 term.

Cllr. Whelan was presented with the Leas-Cathaoirleach Chain of Office.

Cllr Whelan thanked his proposer and seconder, commiserated with Cllr. B. Murphy and offered his full support to the Cathaoirleach throughout his term of office.

The Members and Chief Executive joined in congratulating Cllr. Whelan on his election to the office of Leas-Cathaoirleach and wished him every success in the year ahead.

THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING

Daingithe ar an	lá de Meitheamh, 2022.		
Cllr George Lawlor	 Michael Drea,		
Cathaoirleach	County Secretary		